Genealogics

a tree-rific journey into family history

The Woods Family Bible: a rare glimpse into the longings of the long-gone

As my dry skin and chilly toes remind me, we are well into the winter months now. I enjoy the uniqueness of each season, but my mind is already anticipating a romanticized version of springtime. According to a drawing in an old Bible, I’m not the first person in my family tree to daydream of a little cabin by a river in the woods.

Woods Bible

The Woods Family Bible

An old family Bible can be a family historian’s dream come true. I know other researchers have hit the genealogy jackpot with loads of family history recorded on the old brown pages of such an heirloom. I suspect the Woods family Bible comes from the late 1870s so you can imagine my excitement when I first opened its pages.

WilliamEWoods

Notice the Bible is engraved for Mr. and Mrs. W.E. Woods. This is the mister.

Unfortunately my 3x great grandparents, William Ed Woods (1851-1889) and Belle Feeney Woods (1854-1943), of Lincoln County, Tennessee did not take the time to record their history therein. Someone included several old pictures in the back without any labels. William Ed Woods’s father, James Goodloe Woods, was a minister in the Primitive Baptist Church.  Their daughter, Pearle Feeney Woods Holman (1875-1975), held the Bible for years but also failed to label the pictures or record any data about our heritage. Although I was impressed by the photographs and name engraving on the cover, I found the best artifact folded up inside the crumbling pages.

I wonder if it still exists. Or if it ever did...

Drawings were a bit different before computers…

The writing below the sketch reads “Spring House, River + Bridge from Up Riverside.” I can’t make out the initials and have no idea if this spring home even existed, but a chilly night like tonight has me longing to cross that little wooden bridge to my springtime cabin in the woods…

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Woods Family Bible: a rare glimpse into the longings of the long-gone

  1. We have a cherished one in our family too. And you are right, they are cherished treasures.

  2. Treasure is a fitting word. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Finding a Family Bible is always exciting. Whenever I find one on my travels, I always buy it (if the price is right), and have started cataloging on my website. So far, I’ve managed to get about 200 back to their rightful families! I’ve got about 40 more still to move on so do have a look here, you never know… http://www.pastonpaper.com/bibles (search form on the front page if easier)

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

